Basic Volleyball Rules - Double Hit in General Double hit is ALLOWED on the first contact, when . Serve receiving, or; Digging; Conclusion. When player serve receives the ball overhead, the double contact is allowed. BUT it is NOT ALLOWED on the second contact when the player is setting the ball!
A double contact, or double hit, occurs in volleyball when a player touches the ball twice in a row, or if the ball touches two parts of the player’s body in succession. This does not apply for when setting a ball as long as the player’s hands are together and touch the ball at the same time. Examples Of How Double Contact Is Used In Commentary. 1. Johnson executes a great dig, but it goes back into the net and comes back to hit her in the shoulder, therefore committing the double ...
Should a double contact violation be called just because the ball was spinning a lot after time of contact?
The Double Hit in Real Life. The double hit in volleyball is unique as a violation can be committed in one of two ways: Two contacts in succession (you dig the ball and then go to set it) Two contacts by various parts of the body. The most basic of double hits is the obvious contacting of the ball twice in a row.
Just to be clear, the double hit rule does not limit a player from hitting the ball twice while it is on their side of the net. Every time the ball reaches your side of the net your team has 3 hits to play it over. The first person to touch the ball can hit it twice as long as their hit is separated by another player hitting the ball in between.
Think about it: if any spin imparted on the ball at all counted as a double, then there would be no serves with spin, no spikes with spin, no digs with spin. The reason why we tell beginners that "setting with spin" = "a double touch" is because it often is a double touch for them, but such contacts aren't always double touches.
Put your hands together with your finger tips touching. Open up your hands, forming a triangle with your index fingers and thumbs. Bring your fingers apart to a distance that would be perfect for placing a ball. This is the position you want to get your hands in just before you contact the ball setting.
Everyone seems to be referencing the old rules or regional rules but in international FIVB Volleyball double hit would only be called if you make 2 attempts at playing the ball, so yes it's allowed to slip through your fingers and bounce of but in the end it's up to the ref, the kicking example is slightly more controversial because you may have planned to create that bouncing impact and in that case it's the refs decision.